hail caeser (salad)

Sorry (if anyone is even reading this) for the lack of posts recently, it took me a while to replace my camera and then I was swamped with studying for my culinary school midterm! My entire class was super stressed about the test, which consisted of 85 written questions as well as a practical exam where we had to make a creamy soup (without cream), a salad with vinaigrette and a poached pear with apple juice reduction. I definitely didn’t fail but I don’t think I aced it either… After the exam all I wanted was a big scoop of dairy-free ice cream but opted instead for alcohol (does this mean I’m a big girl now?) A bunch of us went out for drinks after the test to de-stress and the waiter named a drink after me! It was blood orange juice and vodka, so like a screwdriver but more awesome red, and he called it the Screwing Fiona. I wish I got a picture of it, I guess I’ll have to go back sometime for a few more.

Salads, now this is what I pictured we would be making at health-supportive cooking school, not all this deep-fried bullshit. I love me some fried foods but is there anything better than a good salad? (yes, and they are called French fries.) We made this vegan Caesar salad that was out of this world and I already recreated it at home and am seriously jonesing for some now. I actually didn’t get a picture of it, but I’ll take one next time I make it. I definitely didn’t get pictures of every salad but here are a few. We’ve also had a couple classes on plating, hasn’t our food presentation improved?

Buckwheat Noodle Salad

Wild Rice and Hazelnut Salad with citrus dressing

Greenbean salad with spicy peanut dressing

We also learned how to make cute garnishes! Check out my classmate Liz’s tomato rose!

Today all the months of waiting will be finally over because I’m going to see The Hunger Games! I’m def Teem Peeta. Then later I’m going to try and check out a new vegan restaurant in Brooklyn, which I have heard great things about.

Catch you on the flip-side : )

