I’m on a (sushi) roll.

Wednesday’s class was all about sea vegetables! You may be thinking, “What’s so exciting about seaweed?” but let me tell you… EVERYTHING!

Sea vegetables are very high in minerals and essential micronutrients that are very beneficial to us. They can help to detoxify the body, stabilize blood sugar, strengthen hair and nails and reduce bloat, as well as having the potential to do many other great things for our bodies. Seaweed is very versatile and is used in salads, soups, main dishes and even desserts. Did you know that seaweed is one of the main ingredients in ice cream? Next time you take that pint of choco choco chip out the freezer check if the ingredient caragheen is listed. IT’S SEAWEED, FOOLS!

While Japan is the country most commonly associated with seaweed, sea vegetables can be found along coastlines around the world, including the Pacific Northwest and Maine. Dulse is red seaweed commonly found in Ireland and my ancestral homeland of Scotland!

If fun facts about seaweed don’t keep you riveted to your seat, check out these pictures of what we did with seaweed! (Hint: it starts with an “S” and ends with “ushi”)

Our sushi assembly line!

The Chef's beautiful sushi creation.

My sushi!

My sushi that didn't quite make it...

My classmate Kara's awesome sushi!

Miso soup with wakame seaweed.

Coconut lime "custard" made with agar agar and kuzu! (and maple coated pecans) SO GOOD!

That custard was so good I couldn’t believe it. No one would ever know it was made with seaweed! I saved my sushi and ate it for dinner and it was really tasty even if it wasn’t rolled perfectly… Making sushi was much easier than I thought and something I would really like to do more of at home. I gotta run to class but stay tuned for tomorrow’s post which will be all about SOY!

3 thoughts on “I’m on a (sushi) roll.

  1. I can’t believe you called a first time visitor to your blog a FOOL. Oh my, I did not expect this kind of treatment. I knew seaweed was in ice cream. I try to get my fill of seaweed from Trader Joe’s snacks. Nobody I know likes them but I do. I’m trying to eat healthier so seaweed is a no brainer. I wonder how much mercury is in it though. Hmmm.

    • I was just being silly with the “Fool” comment, I don’t really think anyone is a fool. If anything, I am since I didn’t know there was seaweed in ice cream. As for the mercury, I don’t know what the content is but we did learn in class that seaweed contains alginic acid which binds with heavy metals in the body like lead and mercury and helps draw them out. Seaweed is actually used to treat mercury poisoning!

Leave a Reply

