Pesto Naan-za

After being vegan for about a year I have slowly been introducing animal products back into my diet over the last month. I still eat a 90% vegan diet but an egg here or there or some good quality dairy does make an occasional appearance. Last weekend I made the first non-Daiya cheese pizza I have in a very long time and it was delicious! Don’t get me wrong, I love the addictive, oily texture of processed tapioca, it’s a vegan pizza lover’s dream, but it was nice to have real cheese for a change. Wait, there’s more! What could possible make pesto pizza better, you make ask? Spinach, mushrooms, Field Roast veggie sausage and naan crust…

When I was at Whole Foods getting the ingredients to make these babies, I couldn’t find prepared pizza dough anywhere! However, I did find some whole wheat naan bread that I figured would make a suitable substitute. I am proud to say that my budding chef’s intuition was correct!

Pesto Pizza with Naan Crust

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 naans (I used Whole Foods 365 Whole Wheat Naan)
  • 2 Field Roast Italian Sausages
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup sliced baby bella mushrooms
  • 1 cup organic part-skim mozzarella cheese
  • About ½ cup pesto (see my recipe below)

Preheat oven to 400° and spray a baking sheet with oil.

Spread pesto on top of naans, then layer spinach, mushroom and sausage before sprinkling about ¼ cup cheese on each pizza. Put in the oven and bake until cheese is melted and slightly crispy (about 15 minutes).

 

Basil Walnut Pesto

  • Approx. 4 cups fresh basil (I used a whole box from Whole Foods)
  • ½ cup walnuts
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • A splash of water
  • 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast (This gives it a “cheesy” flavor)
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

Blend together walnuts and basil in a food processer then add the rest of the ingredients and blend until relatively smooth. You can add more water/oil if your pesto is looking too dry. So easy right?

PESTO + PIZZA = PARTY

Leave a Reply

