I pronounce “eggs” like “aygs.”

Yesterday was National Carrot Cake Day!

I celebrated this important national holiday by partaking in a Babycakes carrot cake cupcake. I had been craving Babycakes ever since I got back to NYC and this cupper really hit the spot… I’m still dreaming about it! Yesterday’s “holiday” prompted me to look up other national food celebrations and I discovered that there’s pretty much a holiday for everything! Today was National Homemade Soup Day and I just so happened to have some leftover Broccoli Cheeze soup in my freezer that I reheated for the occasion. Tomorrow is Stuffed Mushroom Day but I think I’m going to pass on that one. I’m excited for FRENCH FRY DAY but that’s all the way in July.

Have you ever heard of an Ameraucana chicken? They are a heritage breed of chicken that naturally lay blue-green eggs! If you look closely you’ll notice that one of mine is kind of pink, which means it must have come from a very special hen. 😉

I saw these beauties at the farmer’s market yesterday for a steal (ONLY $3!!!) and had to pick them up.  The farmer told me that in a few weeks these eggs will double in price since the hens that layed them are fairly young and will produce fewer eggs as they mature, making their value increase. I found that really interesting! Last night I scrambled some for dinner and they were awesome! One of the eggs had a double yolk! My next purchase at the market was not so pretty…

On a whim, I picked up a rutabaga at the farmer’s market yesterday. I have never had rutabaga before but I love all starchy veg so I figured I would give it a try. Luckily, I was given this book on my first day of culinary school on Monday, which gave me some insight into the ugly root vegetable. In The New Whole Foods Encyclopedia, Rebecca Wood informs us that Rutabagas are also known as “Swedish Turnips” and are actually a cross between a turnip and a cabbage developed by Swiss botanist Gaspard Bauhin in the 1600s. “Like other root vegetables, rutabagas are a warming food that strengthen digestion, especially the stomach and spleen; they also detoxify the liver.” Rutabagas also contain antioxidant properties and vitamin A. Pretty healthy for such an ugly little fella, huh?

I decided to roast my rutabaga and practiced my French knife skills by julienning (roughly) the tuber and tossing it with olive oil, salt and pepper before roasting at 425° for about 40 minutes. I expected them to turn out a bit sweeter but they definitely had the texture of a tough potato. Maybe next time I would par-boil them first so they would be softer on the inside?

I’m having a lazy Saturday night because I stayed out way to late last night. I hope everyone has a great weekend and I look forward to sharing more kitchen experiments with you guys in the future!

One thought on “I pronounce “eggs” like “aygs.”

  1. Pingback: Who lives in a pineapple under the sea? « Well-Fed Redhead

Leave a Reply

