Fi’s Knees

I had an awesome workout at the gym today. I did 15 fast minutes on the elliptical followed by an upper body workout. I already have spaghetti arms! I followed up my workout with a green smoothie:

Half a banana + Sunwarrior protein + chia seeds + spinach + soy milk = YUM!

If you checked out my previous post you know I got a Garmin Forerunner but I can’t use it yet 😦 This is because I have been struggling with Runner’s Knee since March. Runner’s Knee is also known as Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome and is basically an irritation of the kneecap caused by friction with the thigh bone.

I got RK in March when I joined the Lululemon Running Club near my apartment and ran 6 miles with no previous training. If I could go back in time and stop myself I would, since I can’t even run one mile pain-free.

But it’s December, you ask, how are you still feeling pain? Well my dears, I ask the same thing every day and I wish I had the answer. After not being able to run for a few months I finally went to see a sports medicine doctor in June, where I was diagnosed and given a prescription for physical therapy. I was feeling better by the time fall semester in September started (mostly because I wasn’t running, but I didn’t know that then) so I stopped going to physical therapy, but whenever I tried to run for more than a few minutes at a time my knees started aching again. I didn’t get a chance to go back to see my doctor until after graduation since I was so busy with schoolwork and two part-time jobs.

After inconclusive x-rays and an MRI, I had a talk with my doctor last week. He gave me the option of getting a procedure called Lateral Release, where he would go in and surgically move my kneecaps into proper alignment. I would like to avoid surgery if I can, and since my doctor said that there is no harm in waiting (I’m not going to get worse!) I decided to do three more months of intense physical therapy and then reevaluate my options then.

I would be lying if I told you there hadn’t been tears shed over this. I’m only 21 (going to be 22 on Thursday!) and being limited from even running one mile is so hard. I want to do whatever it takes to heal my body so that I can be as physically active as I want without limitation. That being said, I have my first physical therapy appointment at a new office tomorrow! You guys will definitely be updated on the progress of my knees in the next couple of months 🙂

I’m also going to take up swimming! I’m not a very good swimmer but I need to add some low-impact cardio to my life and I like the idea of being a swimmer. Now that Amazon finally delivered my Speedo, I’m planning on giving it a go tomorrow!

I’m off to bed, see you fools later!

Leave a Reply

